Hyde Park Blast Recap

Before I start this blog, I want to apologize for not blogging after the Mariemont 5K, the North Olmsted Community 5K, or even the end of May recap. Life got in the way and I didn’t want to force myself to write something when other events for occupying my mind.

I have always loved the Hyde Park Blast 4 Miler. It is a great, competitive race, in one of the best neighborhoods in the city of Cincinnati. The competition is always great and although the race is a little more pricey than most races, the money goes to a great cause. For example, the money raised last year went to Lauren Hill. This was the fourth time running this race and I have progressed a little bit in the past 6 years…

2009- 16th place 23:53

2010- 16th place 23:33 -> Swore I would never run this race again.

2014- 4th place 21:37

2015- 2nd place 20:42

I had the race plan of get out hard the first mile (short uphill, then big downhill), hang on miles 2 and 3 (uphill), and hammer home the last mile (uphill first half mile, downhill and flat 2nd half to finish). With this plan in mind, I felt that sub 21 was definitely attainable and that with a time under 21 minutes I would be in a position to win. I was wrong…

Clayton Murphy (Clemson) and myself shortly after passing two miles.

Clayton Wilson (Clemson) and myself shortly after passing two miles.

Colin Cotton (multiple AA Honors, National Runner Up in XC) showed up to the starting line and I knew it would be a tall order to take down him. But, I didn’t let that shake my confidence, we (Colin, myself, and Clayton) went out through the first mile in 4:51 and we were all still talking which was a little surprising, considering that was my fastest mile in months. Colin eventually pulled away as we headed up Erie and my mind was to just make sure I hung on for second. I was battling with Clayton Wilson, a runner from Clemson University and eventually he dropped off the pace because he was doing a tempo workout today. I really wish he would’ve kept going because the last 1.5 miles was lonely. Going up Observatory was brutal… After I hit 3 miles, my pace had dropped below 6 minute pace for the first .1 of the next mile. I knew if I didn’t pick it up sub 21 would soon be out of reach. Eventually I regained some energy as I reached the top of the hill. I came thru the half mile in 2:45 and knew I had to kick hard to make sure I was under 21 and secure second place. My last mile was 5:04. According to Strava, my last 800 was 2:19. I am very happy with my finish and the fact that I improved upon my place again. Although I really wish I could have taken home the win today, there is no shame into losing to Colin Cotton who is a very very good runner. It was a good start to the morning as I still had a workout to do before I could engage in some post race festivities.

Finishing up in 20:42! No idea why the clock was a minute off...

Finishing up in 20:42!
No idea why the clock was a minute off…

The plan originally (before signing up for the Blast) was to do 6 by one mile at marathon pace (5:25) or faster. I decided to jog a mile to the Withrow track and do a 5K in the outside lanes starting at MP and then progressing downward. I have never really tried a workout post race, so I really didn’t know what to expect. It went really well as I finished up the 5K in 16:30. Splits:

5:26

5:20

5:10

31

Only near the very end did I feel a little gassed, which is really encouraging. I honestly don’t know which one was the bigger confidence boost, the workout after the race, or the race itself. I know one thing though, I am in good shape. I have big goals for the rest of the summer and leading up into Chicago. Today was one of those days I will remember when I am lacking confidence and need a little boost.

End of June and first half of the year blog coming soon, hopefully Tuesday night it will be up!

Leave a comment